Who ruled the Aztec Empire?

Who ruled the Aztec Empire?

Aztec Empire

Triple Alliance (Aztec Empire) Ēxcān Tlahtōlōyān
Huehuetlatoani of Tenochtitlan
• 1427–1440 Itzcoatl (Alliance founder)
• 1520–1521 Cuauhtémoc (last)
Huetlatoani of Texcoco

Who was the first ruler of the Aztec Empire?

Acamapichtli (reigned 1376–95), whose name means handful of reeds, was a descendant of the Toltec emperors; his selection as the first ruler of the Mexico-Tenochtitlan dynasty gave authority to the Aztec rule.

Who was the last ruler of the Aztec?

Cuauhtémoc, also called Guatimozin, (born c. 1495—died February 26, 1522), 11th and last Aztec emperor, nephew and son-in-law of Montezuma II. Cuauhtémoc became emperor in 1520 on the death of Montezuma’s successor, Cuitláhuac.

Who were the Aztecs Kings?


  • Acamapichtli (from 1369 to 1391 CE)
  • Huitzilihuitl (from 1391 to 1415 CE)
  • Chimalpopoca (from 1415 to 1426 CE)
  • Itzcoatl (from 1427 to 1440 CE)
  • Moctezuma I (from 1440 to 1469 CE)
  • Axayacatl (from 1469 to 1481 CE)
  • Tizoc (from 1481 to 1486 CE)
  • Ahuitzotl (from 1486 to 1502 CE)

Who was the most famous Aztec leader?

Montezuma II
Montezuma II, also spelled Moctezuma, (born 1466—died c. June 30, 1520, Tenochtitlán, within modern Mexico City), ninth Aztec emperor of Mexico, famous for his dramatic confrontation with the Spanish conquistador Hernán Cortés.

Do Aztecs still exist today?

Today the descendants of the Aztecs are referred to as the Nahua. More than one-and-a-half million Nahua live in small communities dotted across large areas of rural Mexico, earning a living as farmers and sometimes selling craft work. The Nahua are just one of nearly 60 indigenous peoples still living in Mexico.

What religion was the Aztec?

MATOS MOCTEZUMA: The Aztec religion was primarily polytheist. They had different gods, male and female. The sun god was Tonatiuh. There were many deities, and they were revered in monthly festivities with rich offerings.

How long did the Aztec Empire last?

The Aztec Empire (c. 1345-1521) covered at its greatest extent most of northern Mesoamerica.

How many Aztec gods are there in total?

200 deities
The Aztecs believed in a complex and diverse pantheon of gods and goddesses. In fact, scholars have identified more than 200 deities within Aztec religion.

What race are the Aztecs?

When used to describe ethnic groups, the term “Aztec” refers to several Nahuatl-speaking peoples of central Mexico in the postclassic period of Mesoamerican chronology, especially the Mexica, the ethnic group that had a leading role in establishing the hegemonic empire based at Tenochtitlan.

Who was the king of the Aztec Empire?

The Aztec Empire was formally established in 1428 but the city-state existed much before that. The history of Aztec kings is thought to have started with the first ruler, Acamapichtli, who was the founder of the Aztec imperial dynasty. He became the king of the Aztecs in 1375 and ruled until 1394.

Who were the important leaders of the Aztecs?

Moctezuma or Montezuma II, also known as Motecuhzoma Xocoyotzin (c. 1466 -1520), was an Aztec ruler (” huey tlatoani ” of Tenochtitlan ), leader of the Aztec Triple Alliance from c. 1502–1520. He is famous for being the ruler of the Aztec empire at the start of the Spanish conquest of Mexico .

Who were the Aztec kings?

The first known Aztec king was Acamapichtli who ruled the Aztecs from 1376 to 1395. He was succeeded by his son Huitzilihuitl who remained the king from 1396 to 1417. After him, his son Chimalpopoca became the Aztec king and ruled the kingdom from 1417 to 1427.

What is the Aztec civilization?

Aztec Civilization. The Aztec civilization was an empire that controlled large parts of what is today Central America from the 14th until the 16th century.