Why do they call it New Guinea?

Why do they call it New Guinea?

In 1545, on the other side of the world, Yñigo Ortiz de Retez landed on an island north of Australia. Struck by the resemblance between its inhabitants and people from west Africa, the Spanish explorer named the island “New Guinea”.

What does Guinea mean in Papua New Guinea?

It is taken from the Biak language of Biak Island, and means “to rise”, or “rising spirit”. Irian is the name used in the Biak language and other languages such as Serui, Merauke and Waropen. The name was used until 2001, when Papua was again used for the island and the province.

What is New Guinea called today?

1963 – UN transfers control of West New Guinea to Indonesia. Today this region is called Papua. 1975 – Papua New Guinea attains full independence from Australia. Sir Michael Somare becomes PM.

When did guinea become New Guinea?

On November 6, 1884, a British protectorate was proclaimed over the southern coast of New Guinea (the area called Papua) and its adjacent islands.

Are there cannibals in Papua New Guinea?

Cannibalism has recently been both practised and fiercely condemned in several wars, especially in Liberia and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It was still practised in Papua New Guinea as of 2012, for cultural reasons and in ritual as well as in war in various Melanesian tribes.

Did Australia ever own PNG?

History. The southern half of eastern New Guinea (the Territory of Papua) came under Australian administration in 1902, following annexation by the United Kingdom. Papua New Guinea was ruled by Australia until independence in 1975.

Is there cannibalism in Papua New Guinea?

How many people live in New Guinea?

Papua New Guinea Population (LIVE) retrieving data… The current population of Papua New Guinea is 8,536,967 as of Monday, March 18, 2019, based on the latest United Nations estimates. Papua New Guinea population is equivalent to 0.11% of the total world population.

What country is New Guinea in?

New Guinea countryIndonesia

Where is New Guinea located?

Topographical map of New Guinea. New Guinea is an island to the north of the Australian mainland, but south of the equator. It is isolated by the Arafura Sea to the west, and the Torres Strait and Coral Sea to the east.

What are the major cities in Papua New Guinea?

Papua New Guinea’s three cities are Lae, Mount Hagen and Port Moresby.