Has any defensive player won the Heisman?

Has any defensive player won the Heisman?

GOSSELIN DRAFT ANALYSIS: Woodson spent three seasons at Michigan, leaving after his junior year. In 1997 he helped Michigan win a national championship and became the first and only defensive player ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

Has a lineman ever won the Heisman Trophy?

Leon Joseph Hart (November 2, 1928 – September 24, 2002) was an American football end. Hart is the only lineman to win three college football national championships and three NFL Championships. He is the most recent of only two lineman ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

Did Warren Sapp win the Heisman Trophy?

College career He converted to defensive lineman and in 1994 won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (for best defensive player), the Lombardi Award (for best lineman or linebacker) and the Bill Willis Award (for best defensive lineman).

Where was Archie Griffin drafted?

Cincinnati Bengals
Draft: Cincinnati Bengals in the 1st round (24th overall) of the 1976 NFL Draft.

Do you get money if you win the Heisman?

The 10 National Finalists who are not named a National Winner will receive a $2,000 college scholarship. The two National Award Winners will receive a $10,000 college scholarship.

Who won two Heisman Trophies?

Ohio State has the distinction of the only two-time winner, Archie Griffin, leaving their total players to have won the trophy at six. In total, players from 40 different schools have won a Heisman Trophy, while 18 schools have more than one trophy.

Who was the Heisman Trophy winner in 2008?

Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford (Heisman 2008): Bradford completed 26 of 41 passes for 256 yards and two touchdowns, but also threw two interceptions as the Sooners fell to Tim Tebow-led Florida, 24-14. Tebow, who had won the Heisman in 2007, finished third in the voting that season.

Who was the Heisman Trophy winner in 1996?

Florida QB Danny Wuerffel (Heisman 1996, 12-1): Wuerffel threw for a then-SEC record 3,625 yards as a senior while directing coach Steve Spurrier’s “Fun’n Gun” offense. 12.

Who was the first Heisman Trophy winner in 1935?

Heisman Winners Year Image Name School Position 1935 — Jay Berwanger * Chicago HB 1936 — Larry Kelley Yale End 1937 — Clint Frank Yale HB 1938 Davey O’Brien TCU QB