How many Big Ten championships has Michigan won?

How many Big Ten championships has Michigan won?

Championships by school

School Big Ten Championships Years
Michigan 15 1921, 1926, 1927, 1929, 1948, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1974, 1977, 1985, 1986, 2012, 2014, 2021
Iowa 8 1923, 1926, 1945, 1955, 1956, 1968, 1970, 1979
Minnesota 8^ 1906, 1907, 1911, 1917, 1919, 1937, 1972, 1982
Chicago 6 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1920, 1924

Does Michigan or Michigan State have more NCAA Big Ten titles?

Michigan leads the all-time series; however, Michigan State leads the series since joining the Big Ten in 1950….Accomplishments by the two rivals.

Team Michigan Michigan State
NCAA Tournament appearances 30* 34
NCAA Tournament record 64–29* 69–33
Big Ten Tournament titles 3* 6
Big Ten regular season titles 15 16

What team has the most Big Ten basketball championships?

Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament
Played 1998–present
Last contest 2021
Current champion Illinois (3)
Most championships Michigan State (6)

Who has the most wins in the Big Ten?

Ohio State
Most Wins in Big Ten Over Last 10 Years

RK Team 2019
1 Ohio State 13
2 Wisconsin 10
3 Michigan State 7
4 Penn State 11

Who has the most wins between Michigan and Michigan State?

Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry

Meetings total 113
All-time record Michigan leads, 71–37–5
Trophy series Michigan leads, 38–28–2
Longest win streak Michigan, 14 (1916–1929)

How many NCAA basketball championships has Michigan State won?

two NCAA championships
The Spartans have won two NCAA championships and 16 Big Ten Conference Championships. Under Tom Izzo, Michigan State is the winningest basketball team in the Big Ten.

What Big Ten school has the most championships?


Institution Location NCAA championships as a member only-updated March 14, 2018†
Northwestern University Evanston, Illinois 8
Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio 40 (10 in football)
Pennsylvania State University University Park, Pennsylvania 31
Purdue University West Lafayette, Indiana 4 (1 in football)

Who has won the most Big 10 Championships?

Through the 2020 game, Wisconsin and Ohio State have the most appearances in the game with six, while Ohio State has the most wins with five….

Big Ten Football Championship Game
Last contest 2020
Current champion Ohio State
Most championships Ohio State (5)
TV partner(s) Fox (2011–present)

Why is the Big 10 called the Big 10?

The conference retained the name “Big Ten.” This led to the interesting result of the Big Ten consisting of twelve teams, and the Big 12 consisting of ten teams.

How many national championships does Michigan State have?

MSU’s Breslin Center hosts varsity basketball games and other events. This is a list of Michigan State Spartans ‘ varsity and club athletic team national championships and runner-up finishes. Michigan State University has 29 varsity sports teams that compete under the Spartan nickname.

When was the last time Michigan State won the Big Ten?

In the last three years, Michigan State outright won the conference in 2018, shared with Purdue in 2019, and won a share of the title in 2020 with Maryland and Wisconsin. The Spartans won 16 Big Ten Championships, their first coming in 1957.

Who are the Big Ten Conference Men’s Basketball Champions?

Champions by Year Year Champion B1G Record Notes 2018 Michigan State 16–2 2019 Michigan State Purdue 16–4 Conference began using a 20-game confere 2020 Wisconsin Maryland Michigan State 14–6 Postseason tournaments were canceled due 2021 Michigan 14–3

How many varsity sports does Michigan State play?

Michigan State University has 29 varsity sports teams that compete under the Spartan nickname. The university participates in the NCAA’s Division I and in the Big Ten Conference in all varsity sports. Michigan State offers 14 varsity sports for men and 15 for women.