What are the 12 plagues in the Bible?

What are the 12 plagues in the Bible?

The plagues were water turned into blood, frogs, lice, gnats, diseased livestock, boils, hail, locusts, darkness for three days and killing of firstborn sons.

How many plagues were there in the Bible?

10 plagues
The vivid Old Testament saga of the 10 plagues that devastated the land of Egypt and its people (Exodus 1-12) has intrigued some to seek rational explanations for a chronicle of disasters that befell one population yet spared another.

What was the ninth plague?

Inscriptions [Translation] The ninth plague was darkness, so that no one could see another; [Transliteration] le nefime fu tenbrur q[ue] nul ne vit autre.

What are the 10 plagues in Hebrew?

The 10 Plagues

  • Dam—Blood. We comfort and mourn those whose blood has been spilled.
  • Tzfardeiya—Frogs. We protest the proliferation of violence.
  • Kinim—Lice. We stop infestations of hatred and fear.
  • Arov—Wild Animals. We appeal to all people to act with humanity.
  • Dever—Pestilence.
  • Shechin—Boils.
  • Barad—Hail.
  • Arbeh—Locusts.

Why did God send plagues?

Because Pharaoh refused to set the Israelites free, God decided to punish him, sending ten plagues on to Egypt. These included: The Plague of Blood. The fish in the river died and the Egyptians couldn’t drink the foul water.

Why did God send the plagues?

The Plagues of Egypt (מכות מצרים‎), in the story of the book of Exodus, are ten disasters inflicted on Egypt by the God of Israel in order to convince the Pharaoh to allow the Israelites to depart from slavery, each of them confronting Pharaoh and one of his Egyptian gods; they serve as “signs and marvels” given by God …

What do the plagues symbolize?

It represents a fullness of quantity. Ten Egyptian Plagues Means Completely Plagued. Just as the “Ten Commandments” become symbolic of the fullness of the moral law of God, the ten ancient plagues of Egypt represent the fullness of God’s expression of justice and judgments, upon those who refuse to repent.

What was the purpose of the plagues?

In that ancient narrative, a plague served two functions: it is divine punishment for injustice, and an assertion of religious power in the battle between Egypt’s gods and the god of the Hebrews. In the Hebrew Bible texts, Pharaoh’s refusal to release the slaves is to blame.

What are the 10 plagues of the Bible?

The Ten Plagues are as follows: Water turned to blood ( Exodus 7:14-25). Frogs cover the land (Exodus 8:1-15). The dust turns into gnats or lice (Exodus 8:16-19). Swarms of flies cover the land (Exodus 8:20-32). Death of all Egyptian livestock (Exodus 9:1-7). Boils break out on the people of Egypt…

What is the story of the Ten Plagues?

The Ten Plagues of Egypt is a story related in the Book of Exodus. Exodus is the second of the first five books of the Judeo-Christian Bible, also called the Torah or Pentateuch. According to the story of Exodus, the Hebrew people living in Egypt were suffering under the cruel rule of the Pharaoh.

What were the three plagues of Egypt?

Plagues Turning water to blood: Ex. 7:14-24. Frogs: Ex. 7:25-8:15. Lice or gnats: Ex. 8:16-19. Wild animals or flies: Ex. 8:20-32. Pestilence of livestock: Ex. 9:1-7. Boils: Ex. 9:8-12. Thunderstorm of hail and fire: Ex. 9:13-35. Locusts: Ex. 10:1-20. Darkness for three days: Ex. 10:21-29. Death of firstborn: Ex. 11:1-12:36.

What was the last plague in Egypt?

The tenth and final plague was the death of the firstborn of all the people and animals. This was a plague on the Israelites and the Egyptians. The plague consisted of the firstborn being killed on a certain night.