What are the mountains north of Italy called?

What are the mountains north of Italy called?

Apennine Range, also called the Apennines, Italian Appennino, series of mountain ranges bordered by narrow coastlands that form the physical backbone of peninsular Italy.

What mountain range is on the northern tip of Italy?

the Apennines

Apennine Mountains
Relief map of the Apennines
Countries Italy and San Marino
Range coordinates 43°16.9′N 12°34.9′ECoordinates: 43°16.9′N 12°34.9′E

What are the names of the two mountain ranges in Italy?

Country of oppositions A look at the map of Italy immediately shows that the country is characterised by two big mountain ranges: the Alps in the north and the Apennine mountains along most parts of the peninsula.

Which is the most important mountain range in Italy?

The Apennines are commonly considered as the “Spine of Italy”. They stretch some 750 miles from the Ligurian Alps in the north west down to Reggio Calabria in the south, close to Sicily. The Dolomites cover the north eastern regions of Veneto and Trentino Alto-Adige/South Tyrol.

What is the landscape like in the Lombardy region?

Within its large territory the landscape comes in infinite variations: the Lombardy region ranges from the Alps to the countryside, from art cities to small hamlets rich in history, in what is Italy’s big lake district (there are more than fifteen lakes).

What are the names of the lakes in Lombardy Italy?

The numerous lakes of Lombardy, all of glacial origin, lie in the northern highlands. From west to east these are Lake Maggiore, Lake Lugano (both shared with Switzerland), Lake Como, Lake Iseo, Lake Idro, then Lake Garda, the largest in Italy.

What are the provinces of Lombardy in Italy?

The region comprises the provinces of Bergamo , Brescia , Como , Cremona , Lecco , Lodi , Mantua , Milan (regional capital), Monza and Brianza , Pavia , Sondrio and Varese . The region has much to offer in terms of its natural, cultural and architectural perspective.