What is a security classification?

What is a security classification?

A category to which national security information and material is assigned to denote the degree of damage that unauthorized disclosure would cause to national defense or foreign relations of the United States and to denote the degree of protection required.

What are the 3 levels of protective marking?

In the police community the classifications to be used are: PROTECT • RESTRICTED • CONFIDENTIAL • SECRET • TOP SECRET. Unclassified material will be labelled “Not protectively marked”, to positively identify assets that do not require a protective marking.

How do you read a military map?

When reading a military map, use the number along the left border of each grid square as your starting point; then read the number along the bottom border. The general rule of military map reading is “right and up,” which means you read a military map to the right of each left border and upward from each bottom border.

What are the UK security classifications?

The UK government is changing the way that it classifies and protects its information. From 2 April 2014, it will adopt a simpler approach of three levels of security classification: OFFICIAL, SECRET and TOP SECRET. Why is the classification system changing?

What are the 4 data classification levels?

Typically, there are four classifications for data: public, internal-only, confidential, and restricted.

What are the 5 levels of security clearance?

National Security Clearances are a hierarchy of five levels, depending on the classification of materials that can be accessed—Baseline Personnel Security Standard (BPSS), Counter-Terrorist Check (CTC), Enhanced Baseline Standard (EBS), Security Check (SC) and Developed Vetting (DV).

What are the 4 national security classifications?

Security classifications for national security information This section covers the RESTRICTED, CONFIDENTIAL, SECRET, and TOP SECRET security classifications.

What is the precision of a 4 digit grid?

4 digits – 2306 – locates a point with a precision of 1,000-meters (a neighborhood size area).

What two directions do you read a military map?

To read a grid reference, first read the figures left to right along the EASTINGS.

  • lines, then the figures bottom to top up the NORTHINGS lines. Remember: In.
  • reading a grid reference, it is always EASTINGS figures before NORTHINGS.
  • figures – There are NO EXCEPTIONS – EVER!
  • How are the items on a military map identified?

    A military map is uniquely identified by 3 items listed in the top and bottom edges of the map: Series, Sheet number and Edition 1. Series: The code for the area of the world that the map series covers. 2. Sheet number: The map identifier number in the Series. 3. 19Edition: The number of the edition:-

    Which is the most recent edition of a military map?

    Editions are numbered consecutively; therefore, if you have more than one edition, the highest numbered sheet is the most recent. Most military maps are now published by the DMA, but older editions of maps may have been produced by the US Army Map Service.

    Where is the scale factor on a military map?

    For military maps, this framework is of the conformal type; that is, small areas of the surface of the earth retain their true shapes on the projection; measured angles closely approximate true values; and the scale factor is the same in all directions from a point. The projection note is located in the center of the lower margin.