What is Caraga known for?

What is Caraga known for?

The region is noted for its wood based economy, its extensive water resources and its rich mineral deposits such as iron, gold, silver, nickel, chromite, manganese and copper. Its leading crops are palay, banana and coconut.

What are the main products of Caraga region?

Major agricultural products of the region are palay, corn, coconut, gold, banana, rubber, oil palm, calamansi, prawns, milkfish, crabs, seaweeds and mango. Caraga’s proximity to Cebu and Manila makes it a favorable shipping point for products to and from these markets.

Why is Caraga called the land of brave and fierce?

The word Caraga originated from the Visayan word kalag meaning soul or people and an meaning land. Early chroniclers called the region the “Land of the Brave and Fierce People” because its inhabitants were courageous and stern. Armed with this basic information, I was ready for my Caraga adventure.

What is the geography of Caraga region?

The region is characterized by mountainous areas, flat and rolling lands. Mountain ranges divide Agusan and Surigao provinces and sub-ranges separate most of the lowlands along the Pacific coast. The most productive agricultural area of the region lies along the Agusan River Basin.

Is Bukidnon part of Caraga?

kms., present-day Caraga is bounded by Butuan Bay, Surigao Strait, and Bohol Sea on the north, the Philippine Sea on the east, the provinces of Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, and Compostella Valley on the south, and Misamis Oriental and Bukidnon on the west.

What is the 17 regions in the Philippines?

The regions include the Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, the Bicol Region, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Western Visayas, the Zamboanga Peninsula, Northern Mindanao, the Davao Region, Calabarzon, the Cordillera Administrative Region and the National Capital Region (NCR).

What is the region of Socksargen?

Central Mindanao
Soccsksargen (officially styled in uppercase; pronounced locally [sokˈsardʒɛn]), formerly known as Central Mindanao, is an administrative region of the Philippines, located in south-central Mindanao….Soccsksargen.

Soccsksargen Region XII Central Mindanao (formerly)
Congressional Districts in Soccsksargen Region 8

Which city is designated as city of golden friendship?

The hospitable, warm and friendly people of Cagayan de Oro City which gave it the distinction of being known as the “City of Golden Friendship” is actually its real treasure more precious than gold.

What are the 12 regions of the Philippines?

Table of regions

Region (regional designation) PSGC Regional center
Northern Mindanao (Region X) 10 Cagayan de Oro
Davao Region (Region XI) 11 Davao City
Soccsksargen (Region XII) 12 Koronadal
Caraga (Region XIII) 16 Butuan

What are the best things to do in Caraga?

The region of Caraga is renowned for its low-lying beaches and gorgeous cays. However, it is also home to the highest summit in Mindanao’s northeast. Climbing Mount Hilong-Hilong is highly recommended for hiking enthusiasts. Lakes, waterfalls and a dense forested landscape are all part of the scenery.

Where is the Caraga region in the Philippines?

Caraga, officially the Caraga Administrative Region or simply known as Caraga Region and designated as Region XIII, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the northeastern section of the island of Mindanao. The Caraga Region was created through Republic Act No. 7901 on February 23, 1995.

Which is the most productive area in Caraga?

The most productive agricultural area of the region lies along the Agusan River Basin. The well-known Agusan Marsh sits in the middle of Agusan del Sur. Among the lakes in the region, Lake Mainit is the widest.

What kind of language do they speak in Caraga?

Cebuano (Bisaya) is widely spoken throughout Caraga, but there are also languages indigenous to Caraga such as Surigaonon and Butuanon.