What is the smallest UK constituency?

What is the smallest UK constituency?

Geographical size of constituencies The smallest constituency by area is Islington North at 7.35 square kilometres (2.84 sq mi).

What constituency is Dagenham?

This article uses bare URLs, which may be threatened by link rot.

Dagenham and Rainham
Electorate 70,187 (December 2010)
Current constituency
Created 2010
Member of Parliament Jon Cruddas (Labour)

Which constituency did Harold Wilson represent?

The only MP was frontbench Labour politician, Harold Wilson who while representing the seat became Leader of the Labour Party in 1963 and Prime Minister from 1964 to 1970 and again from 1974 to 1976. The constituency was dissolved under 1983 boundary changes—largely replaced by Knowsley South.

How many parliamentary constituencies are there in the UK?

There are 650 constituencies for the British House of Commons.

How many constituencies are there in UK 2020?

There are at present 650 Westminster Parliamentary constituencies in the UK, made up of 533 in England, 59 in Scotland, 40 in Wales and 18 in Northern Ireland.

What constituency is Llandudno in?

Aberconwy is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since 2019 by Robin Millar, a Conservative….Aberconwy (UK Parliament constituency)

Major settlements Llandudno, Conwy, Llandudno Junction
Current constituency
Created 2010
Member of Parliament Robin Millar (Conservative)

Who is the MP of Barking and Dagenham?

MP details – Margaret Hodge, MP.

Is Dagenham Market on this Sunday?

Dagenham Sunday Market is open every Sunday from 9am to 3:30pm.

Who leads the Labour party now?

Leader of the Labour Party (UK)

Leader of the Labour Party
Incumbent Keir Starmer since 4 April 2020
Member of National Executive Committee
Precursor Chair of the PLP
Inaugural holder Keir Hardie

What does the Labour Party stand for?

The Labour Party is a centre-left political party in the United Kingdom that has been described as an alliance of social democrats, democratic socialists and trade unionists. The party was founded in 1900, having grown out of the trade union movement and socialist parties of the 19th century.

What is the oldest constituency in the UK?

Since the split of the seat City of York with effect from the 2010 general election, Lincoln has been the oldest constituency in continuous existence in the UK – established in 1265. Lincoln was a bellwether between 1974 and 2017.

How many seats do the Tories have in Parliament?

The 2019 United Kingdom general election was held on Thursday, 12 December 2019. It resulted in the Conservative Party receiving a landslide majority of 80 seats. The Conservatives made a net gain of 48 seats and won 43.6% of the popular vote – the highest percentage for any party since 1979.

Where is the Knowsley constituency in the UK?

Knowsley. Knowsley is a constituency in in the North West of England.

Who are the members of Parliament for North Norfolk?

North Norfolk is a parliamentary constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

What was the constituency of Great Yarmouth in 1885?

1885–1918: The Sessional Divisions of Eynsford, Holt, North Erpingham, and North Greenhoe, and part of the Sessional Division of South Erpingham. Great Yarmouth re-established as a single-member Parliamentary Borough. Eastern parts were transferred to the newly constituted Eastern Division.

Who was the MP for Norfolk in 2001?

Formerly held by Labour from 1945–70, then the Conservatives from 1970–2001, the seat was represented by the Liberal Democrat Norman Lamb from 2001 until 2019; when the Conservatives regained the seat from the Lib Dems. The 2001 general election marked the first time that a Liberal aligned candidate had won a seat in Norfolk since 1929.