Who has won the most Lady Byng awards?

Who has won the most Lady Byng awards?

Frank Boucher
The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy has been awarded 88 times to 53 different players since it was first awarded in 1925….

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Most wins Frank Boucher (7)
Most recent Jaccob Slavin Carolina Hurricanes

Has a Toronto Maple Leaf ever won the Hart trophy?

This is a list of award winners of the Toronto Maple Leafs and predecessor clubs of the Toronto NHL franchise….List of Toronto Maple Leafs award winners.

Toronto Maple Leafs awards
Frank J. Selke Trophy 1
Hart Memorial Trophy 2
Jack Adams Award 1
King Clancy Memorial Trophy 1

How many times did Wayne Gretzky win the Lady Byng award?

Wayne Gretzky has won the trophy five times, second only to Boucher. Red Kelly and Pavel Datsyuk won four times each, followed by three-time winners Bobby Bauer, Alex Delvecchio, Mike Bossy, Ron Francis and Martin St. Louis.

Who wins the Lady Byng?

Jaccob Slavin
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy/Winners
RALEIGH, N.C. – The National Hockey League today announced that Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin has been selected as the winner of the 2020-21 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, given annually to the player who best combines sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct with a high standard of playing ability.

Why is it called the Lady Byng?

Lady Byng Trophy — History First awarded at the conclusion of the 1925 season, the award was originally named the Lady Byng Trophy, in honor of Marie Evelyn Moreton, wife of Viscount Byng of Vimy. In 1925, she donated the trophy to the league, and even selected the first winner — Frank Nighbor, of the Ottawa Senators.

Who was Lady Byng?

(Marie) Evelyn Byng, Viscountess Byng of Vimy (11 January 1870 – 20 June 1949), also known as Lady Byng, was the wife of Lord Byng, the 12th Governor General of Canada (1921–26).

What player has won the most Hart Trophies?

Hart Memorial Trophy
Awarded for Most Valuable Player in regular season of the National Hockey League
First award 1924
Most wins Wayne Gretzky (9)

Who won the most Hart Trophies?

Wayne Gretzky
Notable Winners Wayne Gretzky was awarded the Hart Trophy an unprecedented nine times, eight in succession from the start of his career (1980–87).

Who is nominated for the Lady Byng Trophy?

Jaccob Slavin
Auston MatthewsJared Spurgeon
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy/Winners & Nominees
The Toronto Maple Leafs’ Auston Matthews, the Carolina Hurricanes’ Jaccob Slavin and the Minnesota Wild’s Jared Spurgeon are the three finalists for the 2020-21 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, the NHL announced Saturday.

Who votes for the Lady Byng?

the Professional Hockey Writers Association
Slavin is the first Cane to take home the award since Ron Francis did so in 2002. The 2021 Lady Byng winner was chosen by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, who cast their ballots at the conclusion of the regular season.

Who was the last goalie to win the Hart?

There have been only seven goaltenders in league history who have won the Hart Trophy. The last was Montreal’s Carey Price in 2015, preceded by Jose Theodore in 2002, Dominik Hasek in 1997 and 1998, Jacques Plante in 1962, Al Rollins in 1954, Charlie Rayner in 1950 and Roy Worters in 1929.

Who was the last defenseman to win the Hart?

Joe Thornton became the only Hart Trophy winner to have switched clubs during his winning campaign during the 2005–06 season, having played for both the Bruins and San Jose Sharks that year. The defenseman with the most trophy victories is Eddie Shore, who has four.

Who was the last defenseman to win the Lady Byng Trophy?

No goaltender has won the award; Bill Quackenbush (1949, Red Wings), Kelly (1941, 1953, 1954 Red Wings; also won as forward in 1961 with the Maple Leafs) and Brian Campbell (2012, Florida Panthers) are the only defensemen to do so. Welcome to the Stanley Cup Playoffs Buzz, a daily in-depth look at the 2021 NHL postseason.

Who are next in line for Lady Byng Trophy?

The Toronto Maple Leafs are next with nine, the Chicago Blackhawks and Boston Bruins are tied with eight and the Los Angeles Kings are next with six.

When did Frank Boucher win the Lady Byng Trophy?

After Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the award seven times in eight seasons from 1927-28 through 1934-35, he was given the trophy to keep. Lady Byng donated a replacement in 1936.