Who was in office in 2009?

Who was in office in 2009?

Barack Obama’s tenure as the 44th president of the United States began with his first inauguration on January 20, 2009, and ended on January 20, 2017.

Who was the Secretary of Defense under Obama?

Robert Gates
Preceded by Sandra Day O’Connor
22nd United States Secretary of Defense
In office December 18, 2006 – June 30, 2011
President George W. Bush Barack Obama

Who are the former secretary of state?

Former Secretaries of State Madeleine K. Albright, James A. Baker III, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Henry A. Kissinger, Colin L. Powell, Condoleezza Rice, and George P.

Who is acting defense secretary?

20, David L. Norquist assumed the duties of Acting Secretary of Defense. In his capacity as acting secretary, Norquist will maintain continuity and readiness of the Department until a defense secretary is confirmed.

Who ran against Obama in 04?

United States Senate election (2004)

Party Candidate Votes
Democratic Barack Obama 3,598,277
Republican Alan Keyes 1,391,030
Independent Albert J. Franzen 81,186
Libertarian Jerry Kohn 69,276

Who was the 1st Secretary of State?

Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Jefferson served as the first Secretary of State from March 22, 1790, to December 31, 1793. Jefferson brought remarkable talents to a long career guiding U.S. foreign affairs.

Who was the Secretary of Agriculture in 2009?

Tom Vilsack was sworn in as the 30th Secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on January 20, 2009. Prior to his appointment, Vilsack served two terms as the Governor of Iowa, in the Iowa State Senate and as the mayor of Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.

Who are the living former Secretaries of State?

Living former Secretaries of State. As of October 2018, there are nine living former Secretaries of State (with all Secretaries that have served since 1997 still living), the oldest being George P. Shultz (served 1982–1989, born 1920). The most recent Secretary of State to die was Lawrence Eagleburger (served 1992–1993, born 1930), on June 4,…

Who was the Secretary of State in 1789?

A As United States Secretary of Foreign Affairs until September 15, 1789 and United States Secretary of State until March 22, 1790, pending the return of Thomas Jefferson from France. B As Secretary of War.

Who is the only Secretary of State to have served for more than 8 years?

Cordell Hull is the only person to have served as Secretary of State for more than eight years. Daniel Webster and James G. Blaine are the only secretaries of state to have ever served non-consecutive terms.