Who was the Prime Minister of England in 1960?

Who was the Prime Minister of England in 1960?

Harold Macmillan

The Right Honourable The Earl of Stockton OM PC FRS
Official portrait, 1959
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
In office 10 January 1957 – 18 October 1963
Monarch Elizabeth II

Who were the British prime ministers in the 1960s?

List of prime ministers

Name Time in office Political party
Harold Wilson 1964 – 1970 Labour
Alec Douglas-Home 1963 – 1964 Conservative
Harold Macmillan 1957 – 1963 Conservative
Anthony Eden 1955 – 1957 Conservative

Who became Prime Minister of the UK in 1970?

Sir Edward Richard George “Ted” Heath KG MBE (9 July 1916 – 17 July 2005) was a British politician who served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1970 to 1974 and Leader of the Conservative Party from 1965 to 1975. Heath also served for 51 years as a Member of Parliament from 1950 to 2001.

Who was Prime Minister of England 1965?

Harold Wilson

The Right Honourable The Lord Wilson of Rievaulx KG OBE PC FRS FSS
Monarch Elizabeth II
Preceded by Edward Heath
Succeeded by James Callaghan
In office 16 October 1964 – 19 June 1970

Who is the longest serving Prime Minister?

Sir Robert Walpole
Ordered by tenure

Rank Prime Minister Length served
1 Sir Robert Walpole 20 years, 314 days
2 William Pitt the Younger 18 years, 343 days
3 The Earl of Liverpool 14 years, 305 days
4 The Marquess of Salisbury 13 years, 252 days

Who is the longest serving British Prime Minister?

Who was the longest Prime Minister of England?

The prime minister with the longest single term was Sir Robert Walpole, lasting 20 years and 315 days from 3 April 1721 until 11 February 1742. This is also longer than the accumulated terms of any other prime minister. The shortest period in office is more confused, depending on the criteria.

Who is the longest serving British prime minister?

Who was the longest serving British prime ministers?

The seven longest-serving British Prime Ministers

  • 6th longest serving: Frederick North. Time in office: 12 Years, 58 Days.
  • 5th longest serving: William Gladstone.
  • 4th longest serving: Robert Cecil.
  • 3rd longest serving: Robert Jenkinson.
  • 2nd longest serving: William Pitt the Younger.
  • Longest serving: Sir Robert Walpole.

Who was the British prime minister in 1960?

The “Wind of Change” speech was made on 3 February 1960 by the British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan whilst addressing the South African Parliament in Cape Town during his tour of African Commonwealth states.

Who was the greatest British Prime Minister?

In 2004, Atlee was voted as the greatest British Prime Minister of the 20th century by MORI; an opinion which is also largely held by the British public. He lost power in the 1951 General Election and died in 1967.

Who was the Prime Minister of England after Churchill?

The Labour Party came to power in the United Kingdom after its unexpected victory in the July 1945 general election . Party leader Clement Attlee became Prime Minister replacing Winston Churchill in late July.

Who was the first Prime Minister of the UK?

Modern historians generally consider Sir Robert Walpole, who led the government of Great Britain for twenty-one years from 1721 to 1742, to be the first Prime Minister; he is also the longest serving Prime Minister of the country.