Who is the current Leader of the Opposition party?

Who is the current Leader of the Opposition party?

State Legislative Assemblies

State/UT Opposition Leader Party
Karnataka Siddaramaiah INC
Kerala (list) V. D. Satheesan INC
Madhya Pradesh Kamal Nath INC
Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis BJP

Who is the current official opposition?

The current Opposition leader is Erin O’Toole, who took office following his election as leader of the Conservative Party of Canada on August 24, 2020.

Who is the opposition party in Australia?

The current Opposition at a federal level is the centre-left Australian Labor Party, led by Anthony Albanese, Shadow Cabinet of Australia.

Who is the leader of opposition in Lok Sabha 2019?

17th Lok Sabha
Leader of the House Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Leader of the Opposition Vacant (2019–present)
Party control National Democratic Alliance

Who is the leader of the parliament?

The Leader of the House serves as the parliamentary chairperson of the majority party in the house….

Leader of the House in Lok Sabha
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Member of Lok Sabha
Reports to Parliament of India
Formation May 1952

Who is the first leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha?

List of Leaders of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha

No. Name Party
1 Shyam Nandan Prasad Mishra Indian National Congress (O)
2 M. S. Gurupadaswamy
3 Kamalapati Tripathi Indian National Congress
4 Bhola Paswan Shastri Indian National Congress

Which political party is the Official Opposition?

The current Official Opposition is the caucus of the Conservative Party, assuming the role following the 2015 federal election. The Opposition is led by Erin O’Toole, who took office as leader in 2020 following the Conservative’s leadership race.

What power does the Opposition party have?

The Opposition’s main role is to question the government of the day and hold them accountable to the public. This also helps to fix the mistakes of the Ruling Party. The Opposition is equally responsible in upholding the best interests of the people of the country.

Who is the first opposition leader in India?

Leaders of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha

No. Name Party
1 Ram Subhag Singh Indian National Congress (O)
Vacant No official opposition
2 Yashwantrao Chavan Indian National Congress

Who is current Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha?

List of Deputy Speakers

No. Deputy Speaker Constituency Term
14 Kariya Munda Khunti 18 May 2014
(8) M. Thambidurai Karur 25 May 2019
Vacant Incumbent

Who is the leader of the Official Opposition?

Members of the official opposition are generally referred to as opposition critics, but the term Shadow Minister (which is generally used in other Westminster systems) is also used. ^ Tupper lost his seat in the 1900 election and resigned as party leader and Leader of the Opposition three months later.

How does the leader of the opposition get paid?

The leader of the Opposition is entitled to the same levels of pay and protection as a Cabinet minister and is often made a member of the Queen’s Privy Council, generally the only non-government member of the House of Commons afforded that privilege.

Who is the leader of the opposition in the House of Commons?

Though the Leader of the Opposition must be a member of the House of Commons, the office should not be confused with the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons, which is the formal title of the opposition house leader.

Who was the opposition leader during World War 2?

N Lord Addison was not a member of the wartime coalition government. When Labour was part of the government from May 1940 until May 1945, Addison functioned as a formal, procedural opposition leader, in the same way as the acting Leaders of the Opposition in the House of Commons.